Stories and news

How I Met My Cheating Girlfriend

Episode III

By Oriwo Samuel

It was in the evening, around 4.46pm according to my hand watch, when Sweeney said bye to me and left. While on her way to the gate, she picked up the call. Because of the conflicting interests; watching the game or watching her going, I had to change the channel. I decided to watch her moves. For about two minutes, she was on the call. “Could this be still her mom?” I asked myself. But I started to doubt that. My Joymax7 Tecno tab was running low of power. I decided to follow her.

“…me too.” This was the last statement I heard her saying before hanging up the call. “What could be the caller telling Sweeney?” My thoughts ran to love. She could have been told that ” I love you” and that’s why she said “me too”. It’s said that when you love something or someone, you can do everything possible to make them yours. I was determined to use any means to get Sweeney.

“Oscar, kindly assist me with your phone I need to call back my mom. Have run out of airtime,” Sweeney told me when I reached her. Oops! I remembered I only had free SMSs, which were also about to expire. I quickly checked my okoa balance.

“You do not have an Okoa Jahazi balance.Your outstanding Okoa Jahazi debt balance is 200.00 KSH.” In this case, even Safaricom refused to call me ‘dear’ and just went straight to the point. I immediately bought a credit from my MPESA. What! I just bought 2,000/= worth airtime instead of 200/= and already, it has been deducted. Remember, the 2,300/= I had in my MPESA account was for paying rent for the month of March.

“Hey, what’s up? It’s getting late. Help me with the phone.” She said once again.

I decided to give her my phone. She called her mom and had a talk for equal to ten minutes. “I wanted to tell you that your sister Rose is yet to arrive from Nairobi. You will wait for her in town and come along with her. I have gone home to prepare supper.” I heard the voice saying on the phone. “With this, I have to win today!” That happiness filled my heart. She then returned the phone and said “thank you”.

“Dear, I have to go to town…my sister is travelling back today and is yet to arrive.”

“Should I go along with you?”

“Yes, but I won’t meet her with you. She will ask me about you but…”

“It’s okay. Let’s go.”

We took a motorbike to town and paid 100/= for the fare. I had been in the sport’s ground since 11am and was feeling hungry. So, I decided to take Sweeney to a restaurant. “What would you like to eat?” I asked. I got the menu and went through it together. “I need  kuku fry, chipo na soda ya blackcurrant.” She said. According to the menu, kuku fry costs 350/=, chips at 100/= and soda at 60/=. This means I was to spend Ksh 510 on her ‘late lunch’.

“It’s well.” I said, trying to please her. I called for the waiter, ordered for her meal and mine too – which was fish, ugali and soda – that cost Ksh 250. “But will she finish this kuku really? This lady must be too expensive!” I wondered in my thoughts. The waiter brought the delicious meals, and we began to eat. “I love you my dear…” I posed to her while enjoying the meals. My phone’s battery level had reached 5%.

“I love you too, Oscar. But I want to ask you something.” She said.

“Please go ahead and ask…” My heart was filled with happiness, but I started to sweat – I couldn’t tell what she was to ask me about. Maybe, I was just guilty already.

“…have never been in a relationship before and maybe, this could be my first time to be in love. Have you ever been in love with another lady?” She asked.

“No!” I replied strongly, knowing that actually, I had been in love before and just broke up two weeks ago.

“And why, if I may ask?”

“I did not want campus ladies. So, it was my prayer to get one who’s not yet in campus. That’s why have been single.”

“Oh, I see. So this means that when I join campus in September, you’ll automatically drop me, and look for another one – yeah. Because you don’t want campus ladies and by then, I will be.”

“No please. Once have loved someone, I can never betray that love. And you know, you’re not yet in campus. And our love has just begun before campus, so, it will go through that. What I meant was getting a lady who’s already in campus.” I tried to use the PR taught in Political Science course to convince Sweeney.

“It’s well. Thank you. I promise to love you forever and always be by your side.” She added, “and assist me with your phone once more I need to save my phone number.”

Oh my God! This is the opportunity have been waiting for, for the last five hours. Finally I have it! I was very happy. We both smiled at each other. I gave her my tablet. While she was dialing her digits on my phone, a message popped up above the screen. I did not want to ask who or what the message was. But I later realized it was for the landlord, back in campus. “Hello Oscar, kindly pay your March rent of Kshs 2,200 by tomorrow 8am or risk your belongings being transferred to our store and your door gets locked. Please comply.” The message read. I could see a shock on her face, but I assumed everything was well.

Sweeney saved her number on my phone as “Darling”. Unfortunately, I had also saved one of my best friends with the same name. Without knowing, Sweeney called twice and the name appeared as Darling. I rejected the calls.

“Why are you rejecting someone’s call?” She asked me.

“No, it’s just for my friend and I know he’s now drunk. He will stress me up with a lot of things.”

4 thoughts on “How I Met My Cheating Girlfriend”

Leave a comment